Public Enemies Screening Reviews


Well where was I? A chance to see Johnny Depp’s newest movie!! Dang.. I would have loved to be in one of the test audiences to go see the screening for Michael Manns Public Enemies ..there ya go.. not in the right place at the right time! AGAIN!
Sounds like from the comments Johnny’s performance was amazing (not like we expected anything less)Marion’s was great, though some said her accent was fluctuating through the movie. Now Christian Bale has never been one of my favorite actors.. just something about him.. can’t put my finger on it..but after hearing that temper tantrum a couple of weeks ago.. maybe that explains it. They said his performance was really good with the small part he had ( I guess in comparison)

Well there are some spoilers here so if you didn’t read the book or follow us all through all the filming last year and don’t want this to spoil the “ending” for you (not sure how that can happen. He dies!!) here are some of the comments and a link to the article.

Michael Mann’s Public Enemies was test screened on Thursday night in Sherman Oaks, CA. It was a blind screening, which means that they didn’t give the name of the film when soliciting for moviegoers. A bunch of reviews have been floating around the message boards. You can read five reviews after the jump. Be warned, some of the reviews contain spoilers. Some are marked, but others are not.

The first review comes from MovieTVWatcher:

Last night I attended a screening of Public Enemies in Sherman Oaks, CA. I have to say that I was really, really excited to see it and I had great expectations to see it. Johnny Depp, Christian Bale, Michael Mann and Marion Cotillard? I couldn’t wait. I arrived at the theatre almost 2 hrs before it started so I was guaranteed to get in. By the time the movie started, there were about 400 people and many did not get in. Michael Mann was there as well and I sat two rows behind him. So what did I think? I was very mixed about it. As soon as the movie ended I couldn’t tell if I liked it or not.

Anyways, let’s start with the good:

Johnny Depp WAS John Dillinger. It was an amazing performance and he is going to be considered at the Oscars next year. He was one of the few reasons that the movie didn’t fail. He wasn’t too over the top but he was very believable. I really thought this was one of his best.

Marion Cotillard was excellent as well. She and Depp had believable chemistry but I couldn’t tell what her accent was supposed to be. Some words didn’t have any accents at all while others sounded like her normal speaking voice. I will have to say that by the she surprised me very much. She has the final scene in the movie and it ended well. (I will say that she surprised me even more because I thought she wasn’t *THAT GREAT* in La Vie En Rose–Nom? Yes. Oscar win for that movie? No.)

The cinematography, art direction, costumes and score was top notch. I had no problem with them and I believed I was in the 1930’s.

Next filming of Hunter Thompson’s Rum Diary in Puerto Rico in March!!

~ by inadepptrance on February 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
