Entertainment Weekly Article “Public Enemies”

Johnny Depp as John Dillinger for "Public Enemies"

Johnny Depp as John Dillinger for "Public Enemies"

Well the publicity is starting! Hopefully some trailers to follow.. We spent months getting photos from the filming of Public Enemies last spring along with clips and such of “our guy” Johnny being the most amazing person we know he is.  Spending hours and hours after filming to meet and greet all the fans who waited patiently at the barriers all day.

How many “stars” spend that kind of time just to try and satisfy their fans? I can’t think of any.  So for the fruition of all that is now coming to be. How wonderful is that??

I myself can’t wait!  Is that silly of me?   Maybe.. do I care?? NSM!  Believe me I have some friends that just laugh,  some family.. but I figure that it’s pretty damn harmless.  I know that I am not alone.  In fact.. I am SOOOOO not alone!!

PUBLIC ENEMIES

In theaters July 1

You could say being an outlaw runs in Johnny Depp’s blood. After all, his grandfather ran moonshine on the back roads of Kentucky during Prohibition. So it shouldn’t come as any surprise that the actor jumped at the chance to play John Dillinger in Public Enemies. ”Dillinger was one of those guys, like Charlie Chaplin and Evel Knievel, that I was fascinated with at a young age,” says Depp. ”And because of my grandfather, the character was pretty easy for me to connect to. In a way, this movie was a salute to him.”

Based on a book by Bryan Burrough, Enemies is a cat-and-mouse thriller about the early days of the FBI, and one agent’s pursuit of the Depression-era bank robber whose dizzy reign of stickups and near escapes ended in a hail of bullets outside of Chicago’s Biograph Theater in 1934. Dillinger lived fast, died young, and left not only a handsome corpse but a legacy as one of the most notorious criminals of the 20th century.

Johnny Depp as John Dillinger "Public Enemies"

Johnny Depp as John Dillinger "Public Enemies"

Directed by Michael Mann (Heat, The Insider), and costarring Christian Bale as the dashing federal agent Melvin Purvis, Public Enemies might sound like a blood-soaked chapter of ancient history. But the film’s themes couldn’t be more timely: Dillinger was sticking up banks at a time when people weren’t exactly rooting for the banks. As a result, he became something larger than life—a rock star with a tommy gun. ”Some people might disagree, but I think he was a real-life Robin Hood,” says Depp, who just finished playing the Mad Hatter in Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland, due 2010. ”I mean, the guy wasn’t completely altruistic, but he went out of his way not to kill anybody. He definitely gave a lot of that money away. I love the guy.”

To read more…..

http://www.ew.com/ew/gallery/0,,20249045,00.html#pagecomments

~ by inadepptrance on January 1, 2009.

2 Responses to “Entertainment Weekly Article “Public Enemies””

  1. Kimpossible you are soooo not alone on being crazy about this movie. You have no idea how ecstatic that I am for this. I’m going to try and go to Chicago this summer to watch it for the first time since it’s only 6 hours away. Everyone gives me strange looks for that. 😉

    They do not understand how wonderful this movie will be. Especially since we’re all going through a little Johnny withdraw!

    Just think…only 6 more months!!! =)

  2. Well, I will join you in the ticket line. In fact, my dear, sweet sister has already given me coupons for movie tickets for Christmas. She is afraid I won’t have enough money in July to get to the theater. So, I am set. Just need the film to hit the theater. By the way… I am hearing rumors of a trailer during the Super Bowl. Which means, If it happens, I will be seeing it on a HUGE movie type screen in High Def. with incredible digital surround sound. Could it be any better!!??

Leave a Reply

 
